Social media: relational experimentation?

For those of you new to this blog (which, lets face it, will be most of you!), I’ll fill in the background to this particular post….

The University of Strathclyde’s Research Development Program runs a vast array of research training and development sessions, one of which is the ‘Becoming an Engaging Researcher’ course. This course runs over several days and can – if you choose your modules correctly – expose you to prostate poetry (yes prostate, not prostrate) from Robin Plevin, communicating via social media and using Buchanan Street as a laboratory! As a clever wee twist the course organisers have built in assessments (so you can’t just goof off for a few days and sleep at the back of a lecture theatre!) – and having spun plates beside Donald Dewar (as pictured) and demonstrated  the Venturi effect to a man in shell suit for the ‘public spaces’ assignment – its time to get down to the ‘social media’ assessment.

Donald-Dewar-statue-Glasgow

Donald-Dewar-statue-Glasgow (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the second part of the assessment, the first was an earlier blog post. For this part I need to define my ‘brand’, who I intend to connect with and why, and how I measure impact. As I thought about these  I concluded that the blog was the best place to answer these questions because, not only had I started blogging my answers (without realising it), but being transparent with ‘my network’ was important to me.

So this is the social media assessment: the blog links (Platforms, Connection, Brand, Evaluation) tell you what I’ve done, why, and what I hope to achieve. As I said in my very first post, this is an experiment – what else would you expect!

2 responses to “Social media: relational experimentation?

  1. Pingback: Social media: connection | Experiment, Experience, Explore and Engage·

  2. Pingback: Social media: evaluation | Experiment, Experience, Explore and Engage·

Leave a Reply

